DCPS is now accepting applications for the IT Dual Enrollment/Internship program for Summer 2021. Applications are due on March 5th, 2021. Click here for application details!

Ballou High School

Principal: Willie Jackson

CTE Programming Offered:
Students at Ballou have the option to join one of five CTE pathways. In addition to project-based learning coursework and the opportunity to earn industry-recognized certifications, CTE students will hear from guest speakers, participate in field trips to industry sites, and complete paid internships.

Automotive Service & Repair
Automotive Service & Repair gives students knowledge of the major automotive systems and the principles of diagnosing and servicing these systems. The program prepares students for a varied automotive industry that requires skills in math, science, communications, and technical abilities.

Internship Opportunities: DARCARS, Washington Area New Automobile Dealers Association
Certifications: ASE Auto Maintenance and Light Repair Certification

Computer & Information Technology
Students will develop skills in problem solving, research, and design while learning to develop technical solutions in a multitude of platforms and programming languages. The Academy will prepare them for careers in the following areas: programming, database administration, web design and administration, digital networks, and other areas in the expanding digital workplace.

Internship Opportunities: Accenture, Pepco
Certifications: CompTIA IT Fundamentals+, CompTIAA+

Culinary Arts
The Culinary Arts pathway emphasizes the principles of planning, organizing, staffing, directing, and controlling the management of a variety of food service operations. The pathway features a blended coverage of culinary arts and management topics designed to build well-rounded skills for the workplace.

Certifications: National Restaurant Association ServSafe Manager, NRA (National Restaurant Association) ManageFirst Professional® (MFP) Credential, and Prostart Level I and II

Hospitality & Tourism
Students will develop skills in professional communication, leadership, management, human resources, technology, and accounting. They will learn what it takes to adapt to a fast-changing career in areas such as lodging, travel and tourism, recreation, amusements, attractions, and food & beverage operations.

Internship Opportunities: Destination DC, Marriott Hotels
Certifications: ServSafe, Customer Service, Guest Service Professional, Front Desk Representative

 

CTE Programs of Study

Point of Contact

Andrew Barnes
Director, Academy of Hospitality & Tourism
Andrew.Barnes@k12.dc.gov

Calvin Ruffin
Director, IT & Automotive Technology Academies
Calvin.Ruffin@k12.dc.gov

Brittany Anderson
Coordinator, Academy of Hospitality & Tourism
Brittany.Anderson@k12.dc.gov

Dwayne French
Teacher, Automotive Technology
Dwayne.French@k12.dc.gov

Henry Hall
Teacher, Automotive Technology
Henry.Hall@k12.dc.gov

Shanel Howard
Teacher, Culinary Arts
Shanel.Howard@k12.dc.gov

Todd Mitchell
Teacher, Mass Media Academy
Todd.Mitchell@k12.dc.gov

Daniel Scott
Teacher, Computer Engineering
Daniel.Scott3@k12.dc.gov

Keisha Shoulders-Bell
Teacher, Entrepreneurship
Keisha.Shoulders-dunbar@k12.dc.gov

Stanley Stancil
Teacher, Hospitality
Stanley.Stancil@k12.dc.gov