Coolidge High School

Principal: Semanthe Bright

CTE Programming Offered:
Students at Coolidge have the option to join one of two CTE pathways. In addition to project-based learning coursework and the opportunity to earn industry-recognized certifications, Coolidge Academy students will hear from guest speakers, participate in field trips to industry sites, and complete paid internships.

Health Sciences
The Health Sciences pathway prepares students to pursue health-related degrees and professions in one of the fastest growing sectors of the economy. The program empowers students to build knowledge and skills in biomedical science, as well as skills such as problem solving, communication, collaboration, critical and creative thinking.

Internship Opportunities: Georgetown School of Medicine, NIH, Food & Drug Admin.
Certifications: CPR/First Aid/AED, Teen-Community Emergency Response Team, Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)

Mass Media
The Mass Media pathway prepares students for visual imaging including television/video production, podcast, web design and music/audio recording. Students will learn the to use video cameras and edit video in Adobe Premiere Pro. Students learn to communicate effectively by writing scripts, storyboards, project planning, and introductory audio and visual editing.

Internship Opportunities: CNN, iHeartRadio, Accenture
Certifications: Adobe Certificate for Video Communication

 

CTE Programs of Study

Point of Contact

Zakiya Edens
Director, Academy of Mass Media
Zakiya.Edens@k12.dc.gov

Masaley Kargbo
Director, Academy of Health Sciences
Masaley.Kargbo@k12.dc.gov

Oscar Platero
Coordinator, Academy of Health Sciences
Mario.Platero@k12.dc.gov

Kobi Colston
Teacher, Mass Media
Kobi.Colston@k12.dc.gov

Deborah Franklin
Teacher, Mass Media & Journalism
Deborah.Franklin@k12.dc.gov

Forrest Givens
Teacher. Mass Media

Taylah Hawks
Teacher, Biomedical
Taylah.Hawks@k12.dc.gov