McKinley Technology High School

Principal: Louise Jones

CTE Programming Offered:
Students at McKinley Tech have the option to join one of five CTE pathways. In addition to project-based learning coursework and the opportunity to earn industry-recognized certifications, McKinley Tech CTE students will hear from guest speakers, participate in field trips to industry sites, and complete paid internships.

Biotechnology
The Biotechnology pathway prepares students to research, innovate, and positively influence the world through a Biotechnology lens. Students gain knowledge and skills in genetics, pharmaceuticals, forensic science, health care, epidemiology, sustainable agriculture, public health and more.

Internship Opportunities: Children’s Hospital, MedStar Hospital, Sibley Memorial Hospital, Edvotek, National Institutes of Health, US Dept. of Agriculture, US Food and Drug Admin.

Engineering
Engineering answers an acute need for engineers in the US by educating high school students in the principles of engineering and providing exciting learning in the fields of electronics, mechanical engineering, biotechnology, aerospace, civil engineering, and architecture, and urban sustainability.

Internship Opportunities: Pepco, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Information Technology, Computer Science, Digital Media 
Each pathway of the IT Academy (Computer Science, Digital Media & Networking) allows students to develop skills in problem solving, research, and design while learning to develop technical solutions in a myriad of well-paid careers. The pathways prepares students for careers in programming, database administration, digital networks, animation, and web design.

Internship Opportunities: Accenture, Samsung, WMATA, District Dept. of Transportation

Partnerships:

  • Active Guard Reserve (AGR)
  • Children’s National Medical Center
  • Common Good City Farm
  • DC Department of Forensic Sciences
  • Georgetown University’s Office of Diversity & Inclusion
  • Howard University’s College of Medicine
  • Johns Hopkins Medicine: Sibley Memorial Hospital
  • Medstar Health
  • National Institute of Health
  • Population Connection
  • The George Washington University Hospital
  • S. Food & Drug Administration
  • United States Environmental Protection Agency
  • University of the District of Columbia’s College of Agricultural, Urban Sustainability, and Environmental Sciences

 

CTE Programs of Study

Point of Contact

Robert Holm
Director, Academy of Information Technology
Robert.Holm@k12.dc.gov

Kenneth Lesley
Director, Academy of Engineering
Kenneth.Lesley@k12.dc.gov

Sherry Richardson
Director, Academy of Biotechnology
Sherry.Richardson@k12.dc.gov

Jacqueline Pendergrass
Manager, College & Career Programming
Jacqueline.Pendergrass@k12.dc.gov

Francisco Barrera
Teacher, Biotechnology
Francisco.Barrera@k12.dc.gov

Chris Dasenbrook
Teacher, Networking & IT
Chris.Dasenbrook@k12.dc.gov

Chris Grimm
Teacher, Engineering (PLTW) & Aerospace
Chris.Grimm@k12.dc.gov

Michael Iacovone
Teacher, Digital Media
Michael.Iacovone@k12.dc.gov

Kurt Kaiser
Teacher, Digital Media & Web Apps
Kurt.Kaiser@k12.dc.gov

Nate Kohlbatz
Teacher, Computer Science
Nate.Kohlbatz@k12.dc.gov

Andrew Schuster
Teacher, Biotechnology
Andrew.Schuster@k12.dc.gov

Ruben Stemple
Teacher, Engineering (PLTW)
Ruben.Stemple@k12.dc.gov