Phelps Architecture, Construction and Engineering High School

Principal: Joshua Emmett

CTE Programming Offered:
Phelps ACE High School consists of architecture, carpentry, electrical, engineering, HVAC/R and Cisco Networking & IT pathways. The pathways mission is to provide students access to intellectually challenging studies in architecture, construction and engineering fields that emphasize the higher levels of mathematics, science, critical thinking, literacy and problem solving needed in the workplace and higher education.

Architecture
The architecture and landscape students at Phelps study design theory and technology so that they may become empowered designers, confident alone or in teams. They can take projects of all sizes from inception to delivery; able to create designs that will improve the built environment.

Carpentry
In carpentry, students work with wood and other materials to construct, install and maintain buildings, furniture, and other objects. Students learn about modern tools, fasteners, advanced construction techniques, and safety measures.

Electrical
Electricians bring power to homes and workplaces. Students will work with blueprints that indicate the locations of circuits, outlets, load centers and panel board and learn how to install electrical systems.

Engineering
The engineering pathway prepares students to be the most innovative and productive leaders in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) and to make meaningful, pioneering contributions to our world. Through an engaging, hands-on curriculum, Project Lead the Way (PLTW) encourages the development of problem-solving skills, critical thinking, creative and innovative reasoning and a love of learning.

HVAC/R
In the fully accredited program, students will build your foundation of knowledge and skills needed for residential and commercial work sites. Students in HVAC/R (Heating, Ventilation, Air-conditioning and Refrigeration) are exposed to the installation, repair, and maintenance of the systems that control temperature, humidity and air quality in buildings.

IT/Networking 
Students will gain fundamental PC hardware, software, and networking skills, leading to several industry credentials. This pathway will convert into a NAF Academy in the future.

Internship Opportunities: Pepco, Architect of the Capitol, Turner Construction, Accenture
Certifications: National Center for Construction Education & Research (NCCER), CompTIA A+, OSHA 10, Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Section 608, and more!

CTE Programs of Study

Point of Contact

Olatundun Teyibo
Director, Career Academies
Olatundun.Teyibo@k12.dc.gov

Kanika Richardson
Coordinator, Career Academies
Kanika.Richardson@k12.dc.gov

Homer Betts
Teacher, Networking/IT
Homer.Betts@k12.dc.gov

Teresa Broadnax
Teacher, Engineering (PLTW)/ Aerospace
Teresa.Broadnax@k12.dc.gov

Terence Brown
Teacher, Engineering (PLTW)
Terence.Brown@k12.dc.gov

Andre Green
Teacher, Electrical
Andre.Green@k12.dc.gov

Royce Hailstalk
Teacher, Carpentry
Royce.Hailstalk@k12.dc.gov

Sedric Johnson
Teacher, HVACR
Sedric.Johnson@k12.dc.gov

Andrea Martinez
Teacher, Architecture
Andrea.Martinez@k12.dc.gov