Woodrow Wilson High School

Principal: Kim Martin

CTE Programming Offered:
Students at Woodrow Wilson have the option to participate in seven career pathways. In addition to project-based learning coursework and the opportunity to earn industry-recognized certifications, Wilson’s Academy students will hear from guest speakers, participate in field trips to industry sites, and complete paid internships.

Biomedical Science
In the Biomedical Science pathway, students explore concepts of biology and medicine. The pathway builds on the knowledge and skills gained from courses to design innovative solutions for the most pressing health challenges of the 21st century. Students address topics ranging from public health and biomedical engineering to clinical medicine and physiology.

Computer Science (PLTW)
Students in the Computer Science pathway develop programming expertise and explore the workings of the Internet. Projects and problems in the pathway include app development, visualization of data, cybersecurity, and simulation.

Digital Media
The Digital Media pathway allows students to develop skills in problem solving, research, and design while learning to develop technical solutions in well-paid careers. Students are prepared for careers in programming, database administration, digital networks, animation, and web design.

Engineering
Students will learn principles of engineering and providing exciting learning in the fields of electronics, biotechnology aerospace, civil engineering, and architecture. Additionally, students complete a STEM Fair as part of a core content interdisciplinary project each year. The Project Lead the Way curriculum provides opportunities to apply science, technology, engineering, and math through project-based, hands-on courses.

Certification: Autodesk Certified User (ACU) in AutoCAD

Finance
Students will gain knowledge and skills in economies and private enterprise systems, the impact of global business, the marketing of goods and services, advertising, and product pricing in the finance pathway. The finance pathway offers courses in business, marketing, finance, and economics, and accounting.

Certifications: Intuit QuickBooks Certified User, Microsoft Office Expert (MOS Expert) Excel

Hospitality & Tourism
Students in the Hospitality & Tourism pathway will develop skills in professional communication, leadership, management, human resources, technology, and accounting. They will learn what it takes to adapt to a fast-changing career in areas such as lodging, travel and tourism, recreation, amusements, attractions, and food & beverage operations.

Internship Opportunities: Destination DC, Marriott Hotels
Certifications: ServSafe, Customer Service, Guest Service Professional, Front Desk Representative

Mass Media
The Mass Media pathway prepares students for visual imaging including television/video production, podcast, web design and music/audio recording. Students learn to communicate effectively by writing scripts, storyboards, project planning, and introductory audio and visual editing.

Certification: Adobe Certificate for Video Communication

CTE Programs of Study

Point of Contact

Alex Wilson
Director, Academy of Hospitality & Tourism
Alex.Wilson@k12.dc.gov

Brandon Wims
Coordinator, Academy of Hospitality & Tourism
Brandon.Wims@k12.dc.gov

Angela Benjamin
Teacher, Engineering (PLTW)
Angela.Benjamin@k12.dc.gov

Kadesha Bonds
Teacher, Mass Media
Kadesha.Bonds@k12.dc.gov

Anthony Evans
Teacher, Finance/Business
Anthony.Evans@k12.dc.gov

Mariah Green
Teacher, Computer Science
Mariah.Green@k12.dc.gov

Alex Jacoby
Teacher, Computer Science/Math
Alex.Jacoby@k12.dc.gov

Aleatra Jones-Dimitrijevski
Teacher, Academy of Hospitality & Tourism (Hospitality)
Aleatra.Jones-Dimitrijevski2@k12.dc.gov

Danielle Krafft
Teacher, Biomedical Sciences
Danielle.Krafft@k12.dc.gov

Grover Massenburg
Teacher, Digital Media
Grover.Massenburg@k12.dc.gov

Zachary Meyers
Teacher, Engineering
Zachary.Meyers@k12.dc.gov

Poonam Sharma
Teacher, Engineering (PLTW)
Poonam.Sharma@k12.dc.gov

Alexandra Stryker
Teacher, Digital Media
Alexandra.Stryker@k12.dc.gov

Nora Swift
Teacher, Biomedical Sciences
Nora.Swift@k12.dc.gov

Deirdia Ward
Teacher, Finance
Deirdia.Ward@k12.dc.gov