H.D. Woodson High School

Principal: William Massey

CTE Programming Offered:
Students at H.D. Woodson have the option to join one of four CTE pathways. In addition to project-based learning coursework and the opportunity to earn industry-recognized certifications, Woodson’s students will hear from guest speakers, participate in field trips to industry sites, and complete paid internships.

Computer Science
Computer Science prepares students for career opportunities in an expanding computer science and digital workplace. Students will learn a diverse set of computational thinking concepts, fundamentals, and tools, allowing them to gain understanding and build confidence.

Internship Opportunities: WMATA, District Dept. of Transportation, iStrategy Labs

Digital Media
The Digital Media pathway allows students to develop skills in problem solving, research, and design while learning to develop technical solutions in well-paid careers. Students are prepared for careers in programming, database administration, digital networks, animation, and web design.

Engineering
The Engineering’s pathway mission is to provide scholars with challenging coursework in the field of engineering that promotes critical thinking and problem-solving skills. Using the design process, students seek solutions to real-world problems using a hands on approach.  They discover answers to questions like, “How are things made?” and “What processes go into creating products?”

Scholars can critical career knowledge through a series of work-based learning activities both inside and outside of the classroom.  These activities also foster necessary soft skills such as effective communication  and strong teamwork. The Engineering pathway strives to provide quality STEM education that allows our scholars to compete in today’s high-tech, high-skill global economy.

Internship Opportunities: Pepco, U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Certifications: Autodesk Certified Professional (ACP) in AutoCAD, OSHA-10, National Green Infrastructure

Finance
In the Finance pathway, students will gain knowledge and skills in economies and private enterprise systems, the impact of global business, the marketing of goods and services, advertising, and product pricing. Students will analyze the sales process and financial management principles. They will take courses in business, marketing, finance, and economics, and accounting.

Internship Opportunities: Edvotek, Fiscal Note, DC Office of Contracting & Procurement
Certifications: Intuit QuickBooks Certified User, Microsoft Office Expert (MOS Expert) Excel

CTE Programs of Study

Point of Contact

Elizabeth Dunn
Director, Academy of Finance
Elizabeth.Dunn@k12.dc.gov

Renee` John
Director, Academy of Engineering
Renee.John2@k12.dc.gov

Korey Morris
Director, Academy of Academy of Computer Science & Digital Media
Korey.Morris@k12.dc.gov

Maya Jefferson
Coordinator, Academy of Computer Science & Digital Media
Maya.Jefferson2@k12.dc.gov

Tosha Shirriel
Coordinator, Academy of Engineering
Tosha.Shirriel@k12.dc.gov

Tavi Barnes
Teacher, Media
Tavi.Barnes@k12.dc.gov

Oluwatosin Ogunsile
Teacher, Engineering (PLTW)
Oluwatosin.Ogunsile@k12.dc.gov

Angelique Sykes
Teacher, Engineering (PLTW)
Angelique.Sykes@k12.dc.gov

Latara Thompson-Meyers
Teacher, Finance
Latara.Thompson-Meyers@k12.dc.gov